DeKalb County- Auburn (1914-)

My favorite courthouses I saw as a kid were Allen County’s in Fort Wayne, the Hamilton County Courthouse in Noblesville, Goshen’s Elkhart County Courthouse, and Hartford City’s in Blackford County. A lot of them were ones I saw on biweekly trips to visit my dad. One thing that they all had in common was a […]

Read More DeKalb County- Auburn (1914-)

Johnson County- Franklin (1881-)

Hoosier fourth-graders study Indiana history. While most of it’s concentrated around the state’s founding, my recollections from 2002 culminated in my textbook’s quick mention of some of the notable people our state has produced. Cole Porter was one, born in Peru. The artist Robert Indiana was another; a New Castle resident born Robert Clark in […]

Read More Johnson County- Franklin (1881-)

Sullivan County- Sullivan (1926-)

As Sullivan County officials planned a new building to replace their antiquated 1852 courthouse, they hit the road and visited several in western Indiana for inspiration. Loaded with money from the coal mining industry that was burgeoning there1, they eventually wound up in Newport, the seat of Vermillion County. So struck were they by the […]

Read More Sullivan County- Sullivan (1926-)

Spencer County- Rockport (1921-)

Residents of Spencer County and its diminutive county seat were so proud of their 1921 courthouse that the Rockport Journal announced that it would “be a thing of beauty and a joy, if not forever, at least for a hundred years1.” While forty-two courthouses across the state have come and gone since then, the paper’s […]

Read More Spencer County- Rockport (1921-)

Henry County- New Castle (1869-)

A version of this post originally appeared here on March 12, 2018. Quick- jot this down! “It must be free from dampness, which would destroy the precious records of the county, on which so much of the ‘peace and quiet’ of our community depends. It must, of course, be fire proof and sufficiently commodious for […]

Read More Henry County- New Castle (1869-)